Take on a fear food

I had a bagel this morning, bright and early and ready to get it out of the way.  I was hungry and wanted more than just a coffee to sustain me for the next 6 hours of classes.  Having a friend with me usually makes it easier to take on fear foods so there was minimal guilt, and goddamn, did I enjoy it!

Bagels became my fear food for me when my mom told me that white flour was essentially the root of my weight “problems”.  I don’t know if you’ve realized this, but white flour is used in a hell of a lot of foods.  Cutting that out doesn’t give you a while lot of options when it comes to meals, especially for a poor college student.  Despite the fact that at the time my mom thought she was just passing on some health wisdom, that one statement stuck with me and is still something that I have a hard time not listening to.  Using word like ‘should’ or ‘shouldn’t with food can be hindering to any sort of recovery.  Remember that if you or someone you know is struggling.

Leave a Reply

